I was looking forward to Raya like way, way before even Ramadan started. Cause I'm excited for the food, the house visiting, basically I love the whole feel of raya. The lampu lap lip, the cleaned and newly decorated house, ah... nothing as warm and nice as that.
Affa and I slept really late on the eve of Raya cause we accompanied Suhair to do some last minute permaidani shopping. We stood at an auction for maybe an hour or so until Suhair finally found "the" right carpet for his house.
Oh talking about which I got so sick the night before. Happily had thai green curry, kangkong belacan and mango sticky rice for buka #thaifoodcravingfixed and a few hours later was just nightmare. Stomach hurts like crazy, was constipated, had difficulties pooping, farting and burping so I felt really tight in my stomach and nauseous as hell. Puked out my entire Thai dinner, and just kept puking for the rest of the night. I actually couldn't sleep at all cause I was waking up every hour just to puke. I was so exhausted and dehydrated cause whatever that goes into my mouth, will just get puked out. Even water, and I started puking foam cause there's nothing left in me. (Keyword: puke). Affa did wake up once a while to check on me and rub my back, but he was like too sleepy to attend to me. I was very sleepy and tired too but the nausea was just so bad, there was so much pressure on my lower abdomen. All I could think of was my poor baby in the womb :/ This is the second time I got this bad stomach flu/food poising during pregnancy and I do not wish to go through it again cause it's so terrible, I had to ask God to please just forgive me and make it stop.
I was so tired and sleepy the next morning, I couldn't fast on the last day of Ramadan and just slept till noon. Thankfully I felt better after that, lower abdomen was still in pain but I just pushed myself to get some work done cause I plan to cook for Raya on that day. Alhamdulillah, despite feeling quite shitty from yesterday night, I managed to make kuah lodeh, sambal udang and ayam goreng berempah. By the time I was done cooking, I felt so weak like I just want a nice cold shower and to veg out on the bed. But we made plans to go to the Bazaar with Suhair who just returned from States after monthsssss of being away so I kinda again pushed myself to get dressed and brace the crazy Geylang crowd and heat. Bad idea!! I was like so tired and weak and hungry from the night before. Most of the time, Affa went with Suhair to look at his stuff while I just sat down and waited for them.
I even gave up and wanted to head home, like let the boys continue and I just go home and rest but I was like too tired to even bring myself to walk back home -.- So I tried to stay on until the boys are finally done with their shopping and it was 3am by then. I was like sweating, setengah-mati, sleepy, rubbing my stomach hoping that my baby is all okay inside. Affa was also very worried for me, and when we finally got home, I was just so very pleased to see my bed!! Washed up and went to bed, and reluctantly sets the alarm to 630am cause we got to wake up for solat Raya in the morning. Cries a little on the inside.
Wakes up earlllllly on the morning of Raya. I got out of bed feeling soooooo sleepy, spaced out and like super lack of rest. Mom was impatiently waiting for me to get ready to go to the masjid together, and I feel like if only I can be excused and get back to bed haha but of course no. Walks to the masjid on auto pilot mode. Done with prayers, headed back home, hoping to rest for a bit but even before I could recharge, mom was already telling us to get ready.
One turn off thing about going jalan raya is the rush. Like you have to quickly get ready cause your saudara is already at this saudara's house and you don't want to miss them, so you got to chop chop put your clothes on, and if you're wearing the tudung, omagerd, wearing the tudung can be quite a challenge. Hair sticks out, neck shows, you want to try out that effortless hijab look but you look so damn makcik. You're like only 3/4 done with your make up, and your mom tells you to just touch up and betulkan your tudung when you're at your saudara's house but you don't want to go out looking like a makcik, but no choice got to rush rush rush before your saudara goes to the next house. All this rushing is very bad for the heart! You realise like ugh you have no time for pictures even cause you're constantly rushing from one house to another house.
Oh well I guess Raya is just hap-pening, tiring and nice like that!
No comments:
Post a Comment